The Julian Alps are the southeasternmost section of the great Alpine arc.
They extend over the northwestern part of Slovenia and cover a surface area of around 4400 km2. The mountain range is divided into two large sections: the Eastern Julian Alps and the Western Julian Alps. There are approximately 150 mountains over 2000 metres high in the Slovene Julian Alps; 25 of these are over 2500 metres high. The Sava and the Soča are the two major rivers rising in the Julian Alps.

The Julian Alps take their name from the Julian dynasty who ruled on the southern side of the Alps and were first mentioned in ancient times. The Julian Alps are built of Mesozoic marine sediments. Tectonic forces created fractures and folding and carved out magnificent rock faces and peaks.

The varied flora and fauna rightly enjoy considerable fame. Natural riches, plentiful water sources and a favourable climate created conditions for early settlement in this wonderful corner of Europe. The Julian Alps are one of the world’s treasures – a challenge to every climber and a source of pleasure for every traveller.